2022 winners list

The 27th Lumières International Press Awards Audrey Diwan’s HAPPENING, crowned best film of the year

Despite the health crisis, the 27th Lumières Ceremony, dedicated to celebrating the best French films of 2021 as determined by the foreign press working in France, took place with a studio audience and winners in attendance. The free-to-air telecast was an exclusive program carried by Canal+ and MyCanal, on Monday, January 17.

Audrey Diwan’s HAPPENING, won the Lumière for best film and best actress for Anamaria Vartolomei. Following Agnès Jaoui in 2001 and Deniz Gamze Ergüven in 2016, this marks the third top a woman-directed film has taken the academy’s top honor.

Three trophies went to ANNETTE : Best Director for Leos Carax, Best Cinematography for Caroline Champetier and Best Musical Score to brothers Ron Mael and Russell Mael of Sparks.

Xavier Giannoli was awarded the Lumière for best screenplay for LOST ILLUSIONS.
GAGARINE by Fanny Liatard and Jérémy Trouilh won the Lumière for best first film. Lead performers Alséni Bathily and Lyna Khoudri accepted the trophy as their directors are currently abroad.

Patrick Imbert won the Lumière for the best animated film for THE SUMMIT OF THE GODS and Thimotée Robart won most promising male newcomer for MAGNETIC BEATS by Vincent Maël Cardona.

The Lumière for best actor goes to Benoit Magimel for PEACEFUL by Emmanuelle Bercot. Agathe Rousselle won most promising female newcomer for her performance in TITANE by Julia Ducournau. Best documentary goes to Marie Amiguet and Vincent Munier for THE VELVET QUEEN.

Finally, THE WORST PERSON IN THE WORLD by Joachim Trier, won the Lumière for best international co-production.

The 27th Ceremony is available for replay on MyCanal.

Download the press release

Best Film
  • Happening
    Audrey Diwan
Best Director
  • Leos Carax
Best Actress
  • Anamaria Vartolomei
Best Actor
  • Benoît Magimel
Best Screenplay
  • Xavier Giannoli
    Lost Illusions
Best Cinematography
  • Caroline Champetier
Best New Actress
  • Agathe Rousselle
Best New Actor
  • Thimotée Robart
    Magnetic Beats
Best First Film
  • Gagarine
    Fanny Liatard and Jérémy Trouilh
Best International Co-production
  • The Worst Person in the World
    Joachim Trier
Best Animation Film
  • The Summit of the Gods
    Patrick Imbert
Best Documentary
  • The Velvet Queen
    Marie Amiguet and Vincent Munier
Best Soundtrack
  • Ron Mael
    and Russell Mael / SPARKS